Posted

print

favorite this post $500 / 1300ft2 - Seeking Roommate for Beautiful Lake House (ithaca) hide this posting unhide

12345678910
Taughannock Blvd

(google map)

1300ft2 available sep 1

furnished
house
laundry on site
no smoking
off-street parking
no private bath
private room

Hello,

We are seeking a third roommate to share this beautiful and serene lake house with. We prefer a female to maintain a favorable gender balance but more importantly, someone who is genial, easy-going and interested in occasionally sharing a few meals and/or making new friends. We are currently two incoming PHD students (one female and one male) at Cornell University but we are open to and encourage anyone from a non-academic background to occupy the room.

The place is about 3-4 miles from campus at on Taughannock Blvd and lies directly on the lake. The house is two story (approx 1300sqft) with wooden floors throughout. A deck runs the length of the lakeside of the main floor. There are three bedrooms: two larger ones (two upstairs, one downstairs). The house is fully furnished (bathroom, kitchen, DR, LR, fridge, range, microwave, dishwasher, washer/dryer). We also have a little beach + pier & kayak we can use. Move in date is the first of September 2019 and the lease is for the school year (nine months) till 30th of May 2020. The landlord uses the house as a holiday home during summer. This means the house is fully furnished and has no space for storage of additional furniture.

The house is reasonably priced, coming at 1500 USD per month. Utilities are expected at an additional 100-350 USD depending on season and heating practice. Assuming that the costs are evenly split between three people, this would total a monthly cost of approx 540-620 USD/per person.

About us:
You will be sharing the house with myself and Camillo. I'm a 27-year old female originally from Egypt but I travel quite often and consider myself a nomad at this stage. Ill be starting a PHD program in Africana studies at this fall and i'm also a part-time yoga instructor when I can spare some time. I enjoy any type of outdoor activities, breakfast, wine, politics, gardening (at least in theory I'm yet to test it in practice), all almost all types of music. I make decent banana pancakes for breakfast that i would love to share with house mates on weekends.

Camillo is a male in his early 30' originally from Austria. He is the one found this beautiful site and signed the lease with the landlord. He has spent the last couple of years working in regional development / sustainable technologies in West Africa, the Middle East and France. At Cornell he will be working on the political and ecological changes around decentralized energy technologies. He enjoys swimming, kayaking, cycling and other forms of outdoor activities as well as sharing meals. Both of us intend on buying cars (there is ample off-street parking) and we would be more than happy to assist in grocery shopping, etc if you do not own a car.

If this seems like the place for you, drop us a few lines and tell us about yourself.
  • do NOT contact me with unsolicited services or offers

post id: 6917516094

posted:

updated:

best of [?]